

The Department of Biotechnology at IIT Madras, founded in 2004 and housed in the Bhupat and Jyoti Mehta School of Biosciences, has a multidisciplinary coverage of scientific, technological, socioeconomic, and educational domains of interest and aims to be an internationally recognized Centre of repute, collaborating with academic institutions, industries, healthcare institutions and other stakeholders. We aim to attain excellence and competitiveness in the areas of research, teaching, administration, outreach and public relations under the ambit of the Institute, state, and national interests. I invite you to explore our website to learn more about our faculty, research facilities, students, educational programs and on the ongoing research and consultancy projects.

As of 2021, the Department of Biotechnology broadly encompasses four major domains: Biological Sciences, Biomolecular Sciences, Computational Biology, and Biological Engineering, with 33 regular faculty members. Established in 2004, the Department hosts at present ~330 undergraduate students (Dual Degree Programs), ~60 Masters level students (M.Tech/MS), ~200 doctoral scholars (Ph.D.), ~30 postdoctoral scholars and



Prof. Sanjib Senapati Head of the Department



DEPARTMENT OF BIOTECHNOLOGY

project staff, and 13 technical and administrative staff. The Department offers two integrated (Dual Degree) programs namely, BS/MS in Biological Sciences or BTech/MTech in Biological Engineering with strong emphasis both on modern biology and engineering and on extensive practical laboratory training. The Department also offers Master of Science (MS) by research, Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) programs along with an M.Tech. in Clinical Engineering, (a multi institutional program) and an MTech program in Bioprocess Engineering. The Department has made significant strides in positioning itself as one of the best centres of excellence in the Biotechnology field in the past decade.

Programmes (M.Tech.)

Bioprocess Engineering

Research areas

Biological Science

Biological Engineering

Computational Biology

Biochemistry And Molecular Biophysics (BMB)





Biological Science

Computational Biology







DEMOLISH

info**edge**



(41)





Faculty

Dr. A Gopala Krishna Dr. Amal Kanti Bera Dr. Arumugam Rajavelu Dr. Athi N. Naganathan Dr. G K Suraishkumar Dr. Greeshma Thrivikraman Dr. Guhan Jayaraman Dr. Himanshu Sinha Dr. K Chandraraj Dr. K Subramaniam Dr. Karthik Raman Dr. Krithika Ravi Dr. M Hamsa Priya Dr. M Michael Gromiha Dr. Madhulika Dixit Dr. N Manoj Dr. Nathiya Muthalagu

Dr. Ninitha A J Dr. Nirav P Bhatt Dr. Nitish R Mahapatra Dr. R Baskar Dr. R Murugan Dr. Richa Karmakar Dr. S Mahalingam Dr. Sanjib Senapati Dr. Santhosh Sethuramanujam Dr. Sathyanarayana N Gummadi Dr. Shantanu Pradhan Dr. Smita Srivastava Dr. Suresh Kumar Rayala Dr. V Kesavan Dr. V Srinivasa Chakravarthy Dr. Vani Janakiraman Dr. Vignesh Muthuvijayan