

75

Mechanical Engineering is one of the major activities in the engineering profession and its principles are involved in the design, study, development and construction of nearly all physical devices and systems. Continued research and development have led to better machines and processes helping the mankind.

The Department of Mechanical Engineering at IIT Madras is as old as the Institute itself. Its impact on the institute and on society is easily demonstrated by noting the alignment of the department's evolution with key events and technological advances in India and elsewhere. Today, the department of Mechanical engineering of IIT Madras attracts and features an extraordinary rich diversity and quantity of talented individuals, with nearly 700 undergraduates, 500 graduate students and over 60 faculty members. The impressive array of students makes the department as the largest in the country and one of the largest in Asia.

In addition to teaching undergraduate and graduate students, the faculty of Mechanical Engineering actively pursues research through graduate students. The current graduate students include



Prof. P. Chandramouli Head of the Department



DEPARTMENT OF **MECHANICAL ENGINEERING**

nearly 150 Master of Technology students (M.Tech), 170 Master of Science (by research) students (M.S.) and 300 students pursuing their doctoral programme (Ph.D).

Programmes (M.Tech.)

- Thermal Engineering
- Mechanical Design
- Manufacturing Engineering

Research areas











Faculty

Dr. Abhijit Sarkar Dr. Advaith Sankar Dr. Amitava Ghosh Dr. Anand Krishnasamy Dr. Anand, T.N.C. Dr. Anil Meena Dr. Arunachalam, N. Dr. Arunn Narasimhan Dr. Arvind Pattamatta Dr. Ashis Kumar Sen Dr. Babu Viswanathan Dr. Balaji Srinivasan Dr. Balaraman V. Dr. Chakravarthy Balaji Dr. Chandramouli, P. Dr. Dhiman Chatterjee Dr. Gnanamoorthy, R. Dr. Hariharan. K Dr. Kameswararao Anupindi Dr. Krishna Kannan Dr. Krishnan Balasubramanian Dr. Krithika Narayanaswamy Dr. Maiya, M. P. Dr. Mallikarjuna, J. M. Dr. Mani. A. Dr. Manish Anand Dr. Manivannan, P. V. Dr. Manoj Pandev Dr. Mayank Mittal Dr. Narasimhan Swaminathan Dr. Pallab Sinha Mahapatra Dr. Parag Ravindran Dr. Piyush Shakya Dr. Prabhu Rajagopal Dr. Raghavan, V. Dr. Raghu V Prakash Dr. Raju Sethuraman Dr. Ramesh Babu, N. Dr. Ramesh. A. Dr. Ramkumar, P. Dr. Ratna Kumar Annabattula Dr. Samuel, G. L. Dr. Sarit Kumar Das Dr. Sateesh Gedupudi Dr. Sathyan Subbiah

Dr. Seshadri Sekhar, A. Dr. Shaligram Tiwari Dr. Shamit Bakshi Dr. Shankar Krishnapillai Dr. Shyama Prasad Das Dr. Sivasrinivasu Devadula Dr. Somashekhar S. Hiremath Dr. Sourav Rakshit Dr. Srikrishna Sahu Dr. Srinivasa Reddy, K. Dr. Srinivasan, K. Dr. Sujatha Srinivasan Dr. Sujatha, C. Dr. Sundararajan Natarajan Dr. Sushanta Kumar Panigrahi Dr. Varunkumar. S. Dr. Vimal Edachery Dr. Vishal V. R. Nandigana Dr. Viswanath, K. Dr. Venkatarathnam G. Dr. Varma A. K.